Moderators: Barrett Forum, Samurai, Barrett

Koched
Active Poster
Favorite Firearm: 98B
Favorite Ammo: Lapua 300g HPBT

Lapua ammo for my 98B???

Postby Koched » Thu 10 Jun, 2010 7:32 pm

Hey guys,

I'm new to my 98B and have only put 40 rounds of Hornady ammo through. I want to get into the Lapua ammo and wonder what other people use and have had great success with? Should I go for -
.338 Lapua Mag Lock Base 250gr
or
.338 Lapua Mag Scenar 250gr
or
.338 Lapua Mag Naturalis 235gr

Or do I just got nuts and buy all 3??????
tommygun
NRA Member: yes
Military: yes
Law Enforcement: yes
Carry Permit: yes
Favorite Firearm: MRAD
Favorite Ammo: Hornady

Re: Lapua ammo for my 98B???

Postby tommygun » Thu 10 Jun, 2010 8:07 pm

Keep in mind buying different bullet weights , the rifle will shoot a little different , maybe high or low , on what yardage you have it sighted in for , if on at 100 yards with horndy 250 grn , it will be low with 230 grns shooting at the same distance ,
Koched
Active Poster

Postby Koched » Thu 10 Jun, 2010 10:05 pm

I knew this would be the case, just wondering what other people have had a lot of success with - I would then just buy 1 type of round and stick to it.
Shadow
Continuing Member
Law Enforcement: yes
Favorite Firearm: Any .50BMG Barrett
Favorite Ammo: API, of course

Postby Shadow » Thu 10 Jun, 2010 11:52 pm

Koched wrote:I knew this would be the case, just wondering what other people have had a lot of success with - I would then just buy 1 type of round and stick to it.

Well, not quite.....First you need to figure out which actually shoots better for your specific rifle. Factory Ammo should work quite well and there are less variables to deal with. After all, this is a battle rifle - not a benchrest rifle. It'll still shoot better than 1MOA, however.....

IMO - I'd get about twenty rounds (each) of just the:
.338LM Scenar 300gr; AND
.338LM Scenar 250gr

After getting a rough zero with your scope (which should take about 3 rounds).